Adjusting to travel, life in Ocotal/Mozonte

I have been in Ocotal for a bit more than a month now. As always, adjusting to a new place is not easy. It has been difficult adjusting to not being able to be with my family when they all gather together as they are currently, in Baltimore- as my brother just moved houses. As well, it is difficult being away from my friends. These things are present in my psyche now and I felt it necessary to express that as it will come with all travels, leaving normalcy, comfort, and the people you love for the pursuit of something unknown, new, and for one reason or another, desirable.

For me, I have found my way to Nicaragua, with my primary goal being “fluency” in Spanish. However, the ways I practice this Spanish happen to be a bit more than rote memorization and repetition. I can not explain how much they have helped in my transition to Nicaragua, as it was very sudden and without a doubt a very uncomfortable experience in the beginning. I was certainly having nightmares for the first week or so about a wide variety of things related to homesickness/ general anxiety in a new situation. I can always find relief in the daily activities that never cease, and the constant spirit and mentality of the household that welcomes me each day, even if I can’t quite keep up with standard conversations quite yet.

This sentiment is only mirrored by the ability I was given in Ocotal to participate in local events. The local professional team, Deportivo Ocotal, allows me to train with them during the weekdays, which is completely unnecessary given their season kicks off tomorrow- I’m excited to watch them play, and it seems the rest of Ocotal is in the same boat. Local kids invited me to come play on their local barrio team and we play every Sunday. The field is dirt and rough but it’s worth the experience (bloody hands).

Last but certainly not least is the treatment that I have received in Mozonte. The two volunteers that I have coordinated with thus far mirror the same sentiment, that the family in Mozonte welcomed them with open arms. A few days ago I traveled to Mozonte just to chat with the family, nothing out of the ordinary. I spoke with Wilmar, the father of the family for a while speaking about his experiences with old volunteers and about life in Mozonte. We talked about how most people, specifically from Europe, encounter the notion that things are so tranquil and relaxed that it is almost difficult. I can understand this, and I think anybody that has stayed in Mozonte could mirror this sentiment. It is a poor community and the speed of life and work is not rapid (depending on the season and time-sensitivity of certain projects). This is exactly the beauty of the home-stay experience for me, it taught me a lot about appreciating the time you have with the people that are close to you. It taught me that slowing down and being present where you are is an invaluable skill, something that can easily be lost in developed countries, or more specifically for me, the United States.

I spoke with Delia, the mother of the family, when she returned from teaching university classes in Ocotal. This day we spoke about the organizations she had participated in in the past. We spoke about a program she coordinated geared towards providing medicine, education, and advice to single mothers in Mozonte. She spoke about working for an organization geared towards promoting women’s rights in Mozonte, where machismo is very prevalent (not so distant from the United States).

I wrote this blog reflecting on the incredible opportunities that have been given to me here in Nicaragua. I am grateful for the family I am staying with, the community that has welcomed me, and the family in Mozonte that has shown incredible grace.

On top of all of this I am thankful for the experience I have been able to have with volunteers that have stayed in Mozonte. It is always fascinating to see how different cultures adjust and interact when they stay on the farm.

I am currently in contact with a few volunteers that are interested in coming and staying with us in Mozonte, which is exciting. I really look forward to continue coordinating with volunteers and experiencing with them the environment that they will be calling home. One thing I’ve noticed is that initially volunteers struggle with adjusting to the way of life in Mozonte. But, after a few weeks/or less, they really start to warm up and treasure the experience. We currently have a volunteer; or at this point a seemingly Mozonte native, that has been living in Mozonte for seven months. She initially wanted to stay 3 weeks.

As always, if you are interested in learning more about our project, Econic, you can check out our website: http://www.eco-nic.com/ and to follow some sweet pictures taken by yours truly pertaining to all things Econic and Nueva Segovia check out my Instagram @Econicadventure.

Namaste y Saludos,

David Jones

Published by

Econicadventure

I am 23 years old and live in Ocotal, Nicaragua. I graduated from Earlham College in 2014 in Indiana, USA. I am very excited about working on project Econic and would love to show you a bit of the beautiful place I call home now!

Leave a comment